Explore More

Learner’s Permit

To legally drive in Massachusetts, you must first apply for a learner’s permit. The learner’s permit exam tests your understanding of Massachusetts motor vehicle laws and safe driving practices, and gives you permission to drive with a licensed driver while you practice your driving skills to prepare for your road test.

Once you are 16 you are eligible to get your permit, even if you have not yet taken the Drivers Ed class.

To apply for a learner’s permit, you need to:

  1. Visit an RMV Service Center. You must make an appointment first through the Make or Cancel a Reservation transaction on www.Mass.GOV/myRMV.
    Most available Service Center offer permit appointments from 5-8pm. Select Service Centers may offer permit appointment at additional times. You will be able to see the available days and times for a Service Center location when making the appointment. If you are AAA members, you may be able to make an appointment at your local branch.
  2. Bring your required identification and completed application to an RMV Service Center
  3. Follow these instructions when ready to take online exam.

Passing the permit exam

The classroom portion of Driver Education will help prepare you for the permit exam although you can get your permit prior to starting class if you are already 16.
To prepare for the exam, study the Class D driver’s manual. (Click here to download a manual or stop by our office in Room 123 or 124 to buy a copy for $4.)
Topics covered on the exam include alcohol misuse, suspensions, and JOL violations, as well as rules of the road and identifying road signs.

  •  You will have 25 minutes to correctly answer 18 of 25 total questions to pass the exam.
  • You can temporarily skip up to 7 questions to move on to the next question; skipped questions will be revisited at the end of the exam.
  • At the completion of the exam, you will be notified if you passed or failed.
    o If you pass the exam, you will need to print your official learner’s permit and keep it with you while driving. You will not receive anything in the mail.
    o If you fail the exam, you have the ability to retake the exam from home for a $30 fee.
  • You have 60 days to take and pass the exam after completing your application at the Service Center!
    o If you exceed 60 days and have yet to take and pass a permit exam, you will need to call the Contact Center or make an appointment online with the Service Center to reset your application.
  • The online exam is currently available in multiple languages (see Mass.Gov/RMV for full list).

There is a $30 fee for your permit.

Practice Learner’s Permit Exam Online

  • Students can practice for the learner’s permit exam by accessing myRMV, scrolling down the page to “Exams” and selecting “Take Practice Exam.”  After entering the required information, you can start the practice exam.
  • Students have 25 minutes to answer 25 random questions that are based on real exam questions and also have an opportunity to practice navigating and operating the online exam.
  • Results are provided at the end of the practice exam. Practice exams will initially only be available in English. There is no limit to the number of practice exams students can take.

If you are a current student and are looking for an unofficial copy of your transcript, CLICK HERE for instructions.